Tea Time: Quick Vanilla Cinnamon Cake

Standard

The original recipe was from BBC food, but I’ve lost track of the link in various laptop changes. What I love most about the recipe is that it does not have any pesky ‘Beat the egg whites separately’ kind of steps. One merely adds to bowl, and bakes. Or in my case, steams due to lack of oven.

I begin with equal quantities of sugar and butter/oil and then add an equal portion of self raising flour.

This being India and most commercially available sugar having the size of mini marshmallows, I give the sugar a blitz first.

 

One of my main grouses with bad cake is that it tends to suck the moisture out of your mouth.Β I steamed this cake in the top shelf of the rice cooker and love the moist quality of the final product. Happy tea time indeed!

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Looks delicious! Really liked the photo presentation. Kudos to you for not letting the unavailability of an oven hold you back from creating baked goodies! πŸ™‚
    I myself am venturing into baking territory (quite late actually) and since it was a simple one, for a start, tried my hand at an easy recipe last weekend: http://tastykitchen.com/blog/2012/05/easy-chocolate-pie/ … which turned out simple and sweet! Will try this one too someday, thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! You can do the collages on google+ or try picmonkey . The former can access your picasa uploads, while the latter is easier to use.

      My first baking experience was a ‘brownie in a coffee mug’ in the microwave. (So tremendously unhealthy, all this butter and sugar πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

