Wedding Rant

Standard

My mother, as is the wont of all mothers, has a few pet peeves. The most colorful among them is her hatred towards the NSS (Nair Service Society) and its affiliate establishments like the TDM Wedding hall in Cochin. As a child, I ignored her general remarks. As a teenager / young adult, I made fun of her criticism and now, as an older young adult, I am shocked that I see her point!

I recently had cause to visit the aforementioned TDM hall to attend a cousin’s wedding. As his 2 favorite female cousins were out of the country, I was pressed into service – not to do any actual work, but to stand around him and look shiny.

Nair weddings have, I am told, evolved many rituals to show off the wealth of the participants.

With increased rituals as shared on the spot by the 2 parties’ elder male curmudgeonly uncles and the equally curmudgeonly NSS official, the wedding stage is like a mini bloodbath.

Take this situation for instance.


NSS guy to groom : Take the vermillion, make a dot on the forehead, then take a pinch of the stuff, then starting at the bottom of said forehead, make a line all the way to the top, then take a third pinch of the stuff,….
Groom : OK OK
<begins red wedding > <linkย for those who aren’t Game of Thrones fans>
Bride’s sister lifts forehead ornament from bride’s face.
Groom’s aunt jostles 3 people to do this
Bride’s grandfather tries to reprimand aunt, fails.
Groom sprays red powder on bride’s head.
Bride sighs, later reprimads groom passive aggressivley.

Not to show off, but i like to think that for my own wedding my insistence on paring down rituals reduced the stress for the participants. Also, all my grandparents are dead.

5 responses »

  1. Totally agree on paring down rituals during Indian weddings to reduce stress and leave more room to actually enjoy the ceremony. My husband and I are from two different (although similar) religions – Jainism and Hinduism and since my family decided to stick to only one type of ceremony – Jain in this case – everything went smoothly. My mother joked how eager my husband and I were to get married fast and reasoned that only one type of ritual was sufficient. I had heard of another case where they were adamant on both types of rituals which had lead to some tensions between the priests of the respective religions sharing the responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

