Travels

Standard

Every year, as the harsh Delhi summer sets in, I plan multiple trips around which my season revolves. I took the first of those trips to Muscat, Oman. Sadly, just as my flight rolled up off the runway, it started to rain! The husband gleefully reported that the weather was just divine.

Muscat is beautiful in March. The days aren’t harsh and the nights aren’t cold. I met up with my college roommate who has been living there since her wedding. We walked around a mall, criticized things and ate french pastries.

 

PAUL

 

 

 

After the husband joined me there a week later, we went to see the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque. The main prayer hall was breathtaking. I felt a bit sad for the female worshipers who are restricted to the smaller, much too unimpressive prayer room.

Here are some pictures of the mosque:

 

image

 

 

Women's Prayer Room

Women’s Prayer Room

Chandeliers

Chandeliers

Giant Chandelier

Giant Chandelier

Alcove

Alcove

Huge Carpet

Huge Carpet

image

The Carpet is all one giant piece.

image

image

I walked around the University campus where my parents live. Everything is more fun when you don’t have school the next day AND you aren’t a surly teenager who doesn’t want to leave her room.

image

image

image

Also, we bought this :

image

super fun for rainy days 🙂

Leave a Reply

